WJEC Information Communication Technology GCSE


The ICT GCSE requires students to complete four units. A summary of the course is below.


Year 10

Unit 1: Understanding ICT Single Award 20% External Assessment : 1½ hours

Students will complete a written examination.


Unit 2: Solving Problems with ICT Single Award 30%Controlled Assessment: 22½ hours

Students will develop a portfolio of work which requires them to obtain and interpret different types of information; using, developing and communicating information and presenting the results of their work.

year 11

Unit 3: ICT in Organisations  Single Award 20%  External Assessment: 1½ hours

This examination paper will assess the ‘application’ content of ICT in a business and industry context.


Unit 4: Developing Multimedia ICT Solutions  Single Award 30%  Controlled Assessment: 22½ hours

This controlled assessment will give candidates the opportunity to develop a portfolio of work using multimedia software applications.



To access revision material for units 1 & 3 click on the link below:

rev tn